Lu Galasso's Blog

Everything From Banana Smoothies to Barack Obama

Movies in 2009: Well What About Them?

Well another year is slowly coming to an end.  The reality around us was riddled with an economic crisis, celebrity domestic violence, and an unfortunate untimely demise of some of the best stars we have been privileged to watch perform in our generation.  But while all this was going on in our reality, what was up with movies.  Were they good? Were they absolutely horrible?  Personally I think I can sum up the year with just one expression: meh….

I mean it wasn’t horrible.  It was good to see Ryan Reynolds in so numerous roles this year as he erupted back on the spotlight for 2009 (although we could had done without Adventureland really).  Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen, although story wise it fell a little flat, the eye candy aspect was stellar.  And GI.Joe was one of the blockbuster surprises of the year.  But were any of these movies, classics like The “Dark Knight”, or darmichael-jackson-this-is-it-movie-postere I say “Iron Man”?  have any of the indies piqued your curiosity for “films” like the hilarious and smart “Juno”?  All this is debatable, but on the off chance your answers are no, I bet you’re like me waiting for the what’s left in the movie column in 2009…no? …well I’ll run through a selection of movies I’m expecting to do big things anyway, in no particular order.  Maybe something will tickle  your fancy.

This Is It: So if I have to explain this one to you, you must have been in a deep hibernating sleep/coma for the last four months. This should be considered the “really final this time…trust us” farewell to Michael Jackson as they document his last days preparing for what was to be his last tour for his career in London. I’m half expecting this to break some sort of record in box offices.  Maybe something that pertains to documentaries?  Sorry Michael Moore.

saw6Saw VI: is it just me or have we found the franchise that will never end?  As long as there’s a Halloween to celebrate and a blood and gore to glorify, Saw will ever be in existence.  I just think the shock value for this movie will never die.

Astro Boy: Let nostalgia kick in to high gear for all those 80’s cartoon fanatics as the astro-boy-movie-posterwonderful trend that is turning and 80’s cartoon into a modern day movie continues.  Now all we need is the Thundercats’s movie and all will be good in movie world.  But seriously expect this to be great for kids today and decent for the older generation who simply wants to reminisce.

twilight_movie_image_group_shot

Twilight: The New Eye Candy…I Mean Moon…;-):  Basically this new franchise is everything that lame movie The Covenant was supposed to be with plenty of beautiful people in it for boys and especially girls alike.

2012: I gotta admit, when I first saw the trailer to this, my initial reaction was…wow!  I mean I read abou2012_movie_poster2at the premise before seeing he preview and I thought “Oh man, I thought we were done with the ‘end of the world’ type movies in the late 90’s! Is there going to be a resurgence?”  But I guess deep down I was ready for more when I saw that preview.  Gotta say I am personally looking forward to this one more so than many of the others.

a-christmas-carol-posterA Christmas Carol: I’ve never been a big fan of Jim Carrey’s over the top comedic act.  It was always just so annoying.  Until he dialed it down ever so slightly with Yes Man.  One of my favourite comedies in 2008.  That being said, while I have found new hope for him in his personal acting career, I’ve always  thought his voice to be ideal for animation.

sherlockholmesSherlock Holmes: The resurrection of Robert Downey Junior’s career continues here as he stars alongside Rachel McAdams and Jude Law for a live action adventure of the famous detective. I gotta say, when I first heard they had acquired RDJ for this role, I was elated.  They’re taking a different angle to this movie and It looks so much fun.

its_complicated_merylstreep_alecbaldwin1-500x261It’s Complicated: Alec Baldwin on the big screen is only good news and a great way to end off a less than stellar 2009.

So there you have.  Just some of the movies I am expecting to make some waves for the remainder of 2009.  Here’s hoping this finishes off the year on much more upbeat note, than the lackluster year we have had thus far.

-Lu Galasso

October 21, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

